deutsch
Home Menu Menu
open Galerie (4 Images)
Map

The Hotel

Location

Our hotel is located beneath the old castle garden right in the town centre of Braunfels. You can see the picturesque castle from the upper tower rooms ("Turmzimmer") and it is less than 500m away. A stay in our Schlosshotel offers you best service, an inspiring atmosphere, idyllic sights and a great location to explore the area.

Interior

The 30 rooms are individually furnished and equipped with bathrooms (shower/toilet or bathtub/toilet), satellite tv, phone and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel area. Free and shady parking space in front of the hotel provides easy access. Alongside the hotel restaurant you can relax at our cozy hotel bar, the terrace or the romantic backyard garden. Three conference rooms in the quiet back site of the hotel are ideal for an inspiring working atmosphere.

Tradition

The Schlosshotel was built in 1886 of diorite and sandstone in a neo-gothic style. It was designed by the architect Carl Seiler who also worked for the Prince of Solms-Braunfels at his castle on from 1883. Johann Ferdinand Witkop took the hotel at rent in 1893 and finally bought it in the year of 1908. It is run as family business ever since. The hotel accomodated some famous guests such as members of the house of Hohenzollern and the young Franklin D. Roosevelt who probably is the best known: In 1891, 40 years before being elected as president of the US, he spent some time in our hotel after a health resort treatment. The hotel is full of history and charming atmosphere.

Surroundings

First mention of Braunfels was in 1246 and with its old town, considered cultural heritage. It surely is among the most beautiful hessian small towns. Many places of interest alongside the town and the river Lahn valley are easy to reach. When do you give us a visit? We are looking forward to welcoming you!

facebook
english
Home Menu Menu
Karte

Über uns

Die Lage

Unser Hotel liegt neben dem alten Schlosspark am Eingang zur Altstadt und in Sichtweite des malerischen Schlosses. Der idyllische Blick ins Grüne und die verkehrstechnisch günstige Anbindung ist eine sehr attraktive Lage mit viel Flair.

Die Ausstattung

Die 30 Gästezimmer sind individuell nach den üblichen Standards eingerichtet und verfügen über Bad mit Dusche (oder Badewanne) und WC, Satelliten-TV, Telefon und kostenloses WLAN. Es gibt schattige, kostenlose Parkplätze vor dem Haus. Wir haben außer der Hotelküche mit Gastronomiebereich eine gemütliche Hotelbar, Terrassen und einen romantischen Garten. Die drei Tagungsräume befinden sich ebenfalls in ruhiger Lage und sind ideal für eine entspannte, inspirierende Arbeitsatmosphäre.

Ein Familienbetrieb seit 1887

Das Schlosshotel wurde 1886 im neogotischen Stil aus Grün- und Sandstein erbaut. Architekt war Carl Seiler, der ab 1883 neben Umbauten am fürstlichen Schloss auch das Postamt und das Denkmal für Kaiser Friedrich III. im nahen Park schuf. Johann Ferdinand Witkop pachtete das Hotel 1893 zunächst und übernahm es 1908 ganz. Seither ist es ein Familienbetrieb. Ein berühmter Gast war neben Mitgliedern des Hauses Hoenzollern auch der jugendliche Franklin D. Roosevelt: Im Jahre 1891 war er in unserem Hotel für eine Kur zu Gast. 1932 wurde er Präsident der USA.

Die Region

Braunfels wurde 1246 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt und ist mit seinem denkmalgeschützten Altstadtensemble eine der schönsten hessischen Kleinstädte. Die Sehenswürdigkeiten entlang des Lahntals sind in kurzer Zeit zu erreichen. Für Erholungssuchende, Aktivurlauber und kulturell Interessierte ist unsere Region ein echter Geheimtipp. Wann besuchen Sie uns?